TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD

MEETING MINUTES

Of July 19, 2024

<u>Call to Order:</u> TPB Chair Oscar Leeser called the Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting to order at 9:09 a.m. at the Blue Flame Building, 17th Floor (Center for Community Engagement), 304 Texas Avenue, El Paso, TX 79901, and also conducted the meeting telephonically and by video conference. TPB Member attendance was as follows:

MEMBERS PRESENT	TITLES	MEMBERS ABSENT	TITLES
Oscar Leeser (Chair)	Mayor, City of El Paso	Joseph Cervantes	NM State Senator, District 31
2. Cesar Blanco (Vice-Chair)	TX State Senator	Anthony Turner	Mayor, Town of Anthony, TX
3. Aaron Chavarria	District Engineer, NMDOT	Eddie Morales	TX State Representative – 74 th District
4. Walter Miller	Alderman 1, Town of Horizon City	Willie Madrid	NM State Representative District 53
5. Tomas Trevino	District Engineer, TXDOT El Paso District	Mo Moabed	County Commissioner, Doña Ana County
6. Iliana Holguin	El Paso County Commissioner, Precinct 3	Ramon Cano	Mayor, Town of Clint
7. Rudy Cruz	City of Socorro, District 3 Representative	Diana Murillo	Mayor, Anthony, NM
8. Claudia Ordaz	TX State Representative – 76th District	Rachel Quintana	Mayor, Village of Vinton
9. Norma Palacios	Assistant Public Works Director, El Paso County	Lina Ortega	TX State Representative – 77 th District
10. Cassandra Hernandez	City of El Paso Representative – District 3	Miguel Chacon	Mayor, City of San Elizario, TX
11. Chris Canales	City of El Paso Representative – District 8		
12. Ellen Smyth	Chief Transit & Field Operations Officer (COEP)		
13. Yvette Hernandez	City Engineer, COEP		
14. Tony Nevarez	Director of Aviation, El Paso International Airport	MPO STAFF	
15. Joe Moody	TX State Representative – 78th District	Sergio Estrada	MPO/TPB Attorney
16. Isabel Salcido	City of El Paso Representative - District 5	Eduardo Calvo	Executive Director
17. Mary E. Gonzalez	TX State Representative – 75th District	Claudia Valles	Transportation Planner
18. Cary Westin	City Manager, City of El Paso	Nina Rodriguez	Transportation Planner
19. Javier Perea	Mayor, Sunland Park, NM	Jennifer Moreno	Transportation Planner
20. Ricardo Samaniego	Judge, El Paso County	Gerardo Fierro	Associate Regional Transportation Analyst
21.		Harrison Plourde	Assistant Director
22.		Anne Guayante	Regional Transportation Manager
23.		Marisol Enriquez	Administrative Secretary

(Meeting began with 16 members)

• No Public Comment: No member of the public signed up for Initial Public Comment

DISCUSSION AND ACTION:

1. Consider approval of the minutes of the June 21, 2024 TPB meeting.

Presenter: TPB Chair

Motion to approve the minutes of the June 21, 2024, TPB meeting with corrections made by Commissioner Iliana Holguin and seconded by Alderman Walter Miller. Motion passed unanimously.

2. Consider authorizing the Executive Director to sign a letter of support for the Fiscal Year 2025 Texas Unified Transportation Program (UTP)

Presenter: Eduardo Calvo (MPO)

- Chairperson, Mayor Oscar Leeser opened Public Comment:
 - 1. Richard Dayoub commented.
 - 2. Sito Negron commented
 - 3. Bob Storch commented
- Chairperson, Mayor Oscar Leeser closed Public Comment.
- Yvette Hernandez, Cesar Blanco, Chris Canales, Iliana Holguin, Walter Miller, Mary Gonzalez, Cassandra Hernandez commented

Motion to authorize the Executive Director to sign a letter of support for the Fiscal Year 2025 Texas Unified Transportation Program (UTP) to include language advocating for additional funding by Alderman Walter Miller and seconded by Representative Cassandra Hernandez. Motion passes, with Commissioner Iliana Holguin and Representative Chris Canales voting against, and Representative Mary Gonzalez abstaining.

- 3. Consider authorizing the Executive Director to execute the following agreements associated with the International Border Crossings Strategic Plan:
 - a. Advance Funding Agreement with TxDOT
 - b. Non-federal match agreement with City of El Paso
 - c. Non-federal match agreement with New Mexico Economic Development Department
 - d. Non-federal match agreement with El Paso County

Presenter: Eduardo Calvo (MPO)

Motion to authorize authorizing the Executive Director to execute the following agreements associated with the International Border Crossings Strategic Plan:

- a. Advance Funding Agreement with TxDOT
- b. Non-federal match agreement with City of El Paso
- c. Non-federal match agreement with New Mexico Economic Development Department
- d. Non-federal match agreement with El Paso County

made by Representative Cassandra Hernandez and seconded by Representative Isabel Salcido. Motion passes unanimously.

4. Consider authorizing the Executive Director to execute Task Order #5 with the University of Texas at El Paso for the Impact of Transborder Urban Growth Policies and Patterns on Ozone Concentration project, using funds associated with the Rider 7 Local Air Quality Statement of Work under Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) contract (grant) #582-20-11979, for an amount not to exceed \$135,000.00

Presenter: Eduardo Calvo (MPO)

Yvette Hernandez, Isabel Salcido commented

Motion to authorize the Executive Director to execute Task Order #5 with the University of Texas at El Paso for the Impact of Transborder Urban Growth Policies and Patterns on Ozone Concentration project, using funds associated with the Rider 7 Local Air Quality Statement of Work under Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) contract (grant) #582-20-11979, for an amount not to exceed \$135,000.00 made by Representative Isabel Salcido and seconded by Alderman Walter Miller. Motion passed unanimously.

REPORTS AND DISCUSSION:

5. November RMS 2023–2026 TIP, RMS 2025–2028 TIP and STIP Revision Update

Presenter: Anne Guayante (EPMPO)

- 6. Executive Director's Report
 - a. Texas Transportation Committee meeting June 27, 2024
 - b. Public Participation Plan Amendment Public Comment Period
 - c. FTA 5310 Program Project Call

Presenter: Eduardo Calvo (MPO Executive Director)

7. Adjournment.

Adjournment at 10:19 a.m.

Approved as to content:

Marisol Enriquez, Recording Secretary of the Transportation Policy Board for the El Paso MPO Study Area